How to restore your iPhone without losing data

Who I am
Alejandra Rangel
@alejandrarangel

Sometimes, your iPhone may malfunction or some misconfigured settings may ruin the experience with the device. In such cases, just reset your iPhone to factory settings. You may be wondering, but do I lose all the data on my iPhone?


Are you worried about losing photos, videos, files or data while resetting settings, in this article, we will show you how to restore iPhone without losing data or anything else. I always recommend that you make an iPhone backup in case something could go wrong.



How to backup iPhone to Windows PC and MAC

Fare backup iPhone

We have a separate article explaining how to back up an iPhone, but here's the short version:

  1. You can use iCloud or iTunes to back up your iOS device.
  2. If you want to use iCloud, go to Settings> iCloud> Backup and make sure the feature is enabled. To see when the last backup was performed, look for the Back up option where the date and time should be displayed. If you've never backed up before, you can tap the Back Up Now button and follow the instructions.
  3. To use iTunes to back up your iPhone or iPad, you need to connect the device to your PC or Mac using the charging cable. Click the iPhone or iPad icon in the upper left corner of iTunes, below the Play button.

10 Solutions for When iCloud Won't Backup Photos to iPhone

Restore iPhone as new without losing data

When you try to restore an iPhone to factory settings, all your photos, contacts and other data, including apps, are usually erased. Don't worry, you can restore iPhone without losing data. To achieve this I recommend that you try a third party software to restore your iPhone without losing data i.e. Tenorshare ReiBoot. [IOS 15 Beta Support]




  1. Open the Settings on your iPhone.
  2. Go to General.
  3. Scroll down and tap the "Restore".
  4. From the next window, choose the option "Reset all settings".
  5. Enter yours pass code and proceed with restoring iPhone as new.

This option will reset your iPhone settings, including network preferences, eSIM plans, keyboard settings, home screen, etc.. Absolutely NOT choose “Erase all content and settings” if you don't want to lose your data.

Your personal data will remain on your phone and you can still look at your photos after factory reset the iPhone. Hope this helps you to restore iPhone without losing data.


4 solutions for when iPhone shows wrong caller ID

How to completely reset your iPhone

Resetting the iPhone to factory settings will solve many problems and is essential if you have to sell it. Formatting your iPhone means completely erasing the data on the device, returning it to the way it left the factory.


To erase your iPhone, go to Settings> General> Reset> Erase all content and settings. But there are some steps you should take first, as we will illustrate in this article. We explain how to restore your iPhone by deleting everything from the phone.


  1. Open the Settings on your iPhone.
  2. Go to General.
  3. Scroll down and tap the "Restore".
  4. From the next window, choose the option "Erase content and settings".
  5. Enter yours pass code and proceed with restoring iPhone as new.
add a comment of How to restore your iPhone without losing data
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.