close
    search Buscar

    How to restore iPad and erase all content

    Who I am
    Valery Aloyants
    @valeryaloyants

    Item Feedback:

    content warning

    Factory reset your iPad to remove your personal information. The two most common reasons for restore an iPad to factory default settings are preparing the iPad for a new owner or getting over an iPad problem that rebooting didn't fix for you.


    If you're planning on selling the iPad or even giving it to a family member, you'll want to restore iPad to factory default settings. This process it will erase your iPad, erasing the settings and data and returning it to the exact state as when you took it out of the box the first time. These instructions apply to devices running iOS 9 and later.



    How to connect iPad to TV wirelessly or with cables

    How to erase all content on iPad

    You can protect yourself and your personal information by making sure that all settings and data are deleted from the iPad. The reset process should include turning off Find My iPad.

    even the iPad reset is a troubleshooting tool. You can solve many common problems by deleting the offending app and re-downloading it from the App Store or by shutting down and restarting the iPad, but the problems that persist beyond these steps usually resolve themselves after the device is reset.

    First di clean the iPad completely, you can try to clear the settings and reset the network settings. You can run both of these processes on the same screen used for restore the iPad.


    Before restoring iPad

    To avoid the loss of important data, we recommend that you run the iPad backup on iCloud before restoring it, if possible. To do it:



    1. Open the Settings app.
    2. Tap the you don't know on the left side of the screen.
    3. Select iCloud.
    4. Toccata ICloud Backup in iCloud settings.
    5. If iCloud Backup is not on, turn it on by tapping the switch at the top of the screen to on / green.
    6. Toccata Back up now.
    7. The iPad will back up important information such as contacts, settings and photos.

    Reset iPad to factory settings

    After making a backup, you are ready for delete all content on iPad and restore it to "factory settings". That's how.

    1. In Settings, touch General in the menu on the left.
    2. Scroll to the bottom of General Settings and tap Restore.
    3. Toccata Reset all content and settings to erase your iPad.
    4. You will have to confirm your selection twice. Since this option resets your iPad to factory defaults, Apple wants to double check your choice. If you have a passcode lock on your iPad, you will also need to enter it to continue.
    5. The iPad will be wiped and restarted, ready to be set up by someone.

    How to connect an iPad to a projector

    Other ways to restore iPad

    The Reset menu contains several options if you don't want to erase the iPad completely.



    If you give your iPad to a family member who will use the same Apple ID, you might choose the first option:

    Reset all settings, qhis option leaves the data (music, movies, contacts, etc.) on the tablet but restores the preferences. You can also try this if you are experiencing iPad issues and are not ready to proceed with a full clean yet.


    If you are resetting your device because you are having trouble connecting to your Wi-Fi or are having other problems with internet connectivity, you may want to try first reset network settings. This option erases all data stored in your specific network and may help you fix the problem without the need to perform a hard reset.



    But many people will want to choose to clear all content and settings. This option protects you by making sure that all data is permanently deleted from the iPad, including your iTunes account information. If you are selling the iPad on eBay or to a friend or family member who will use another iTunes account, you choose to erase all content and settings.

    How to connect your iPad to an Ethernet network port

    add a comment from How to restore iPad and erase all content
    Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.